April showers…

on

… bring May flowers? When I woke this first of May, I was greeted not by an idyllic sunshiny morning and fields of spring flowers, but instead by a steady gray drizzle and the reminder that though the fields have turned green, most of the spring flowers have already gone their merry way. And a sore throat reminded me that allergies, though not as bad for me as in Nebraska, are very much still present here.

Had I more energy, I’d go bake something, but at this point even if I could step away from the homework, laundry, and airplane-ticket-buying long enough to make something sweet, I know it would only hurt my throat. And I need my health these next couple of weeks—my sister and dear friend are coming to visit!

Wait, did I just say airplane-ticket-buying?! Yes, this morning I bought my ticket to go back to Nebraska in June. I didn’t just buy that ticket, though; I also bought a ticket to come back to Switzerland in October! Because a most amazing thing has happened—I’m getting married and moving to Switzerland. And yes, this has been a most incredible, unexpected, crazy, and wonderful surprise. God is sovereign; from the beginning of the whole study abroad process, I was asking Him to lead and guide me. I really wasn’t sure in the beginning why I was here in Switzerland; now, after six months of being here, I can say that not only have I grown in faith, not only have I made amazing friends here, not only have I been involved in a local church … I’ve also met my future husband. What an incredible gift!

It’s funny because even though Friday was rainy and cold like today, Saturday and Sunday weren’t. And I’m so grateful, because that meant we could take advantage of some walks in the vineyards and orchards and by the lake! Saturday my fiancé and I spent the day with a dear couple friend from church and their children. What a lovely day we had! I’m so thankful that we have the family of God.

Well, I might sneak in a nap before getting back to my studies. This weather makes me want to curl up with a book and a cup of tea! Rain is forecasted for this whole week, so I might be fighting these impulses all week long!

Psalm 40:1-5—

I waited patiently for the Lord;
He inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction,
out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth,
a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear,
and put their trust in the Lord.

Blessed is the man who makes the Lord his trust,
who does not turn to the proud,
to those who go astray after a lie!
You have multiplied, O Lord my God,
Your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us;
none can compare with You!
I will proclaim and tell of them,
yet they are more than can be told.

Amen! God really has made my steps secure. He really has done wondrous things for me. What a faithful and good Father!

(This picture of a magnolia tree was taken a month ago in Geneva.)

Leave a Reply

