Like the Flowers

on

My grandmother turns 93 today. I wish I could be back in Nebraska to celebrate with the family; to practice a few Swedish phrases just so I could hear her say, “You know, I only know two words in Swedish…”; to bake a rhubarb custard pie just to hear her ask as I serve her a slice, “Is this crust homemade?”


I would say that spring, especially Easter, is my favorite time of the year, but I find myself saying something similar as every season unfolds. Sometimes it’s more difficult than others to accept the change that comes with each turning of the seasons. Yet as I smell the blooming trees and gaze at fields full of wildflowers and lush green crops, I go back again to Luke 12:27—

Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

And Jon Foreman’s song Your Love is Strong:

I walk to the meadow and stare at the flowers,
Better dressed than any girl on her wedding day.
So why should I worry? Why do I freak out?
God knows what I need; You know what I need!

Oh that I may have faith like a child’s that delights in my Creator’s presence even when I’m down! Oh that I would realize how I, like the flowers, am perfectly cared for and nurtured by His love!

Leave a Reply

