Finding My Footing

Tuesday will make three weeks here in Switzerland, but it’s beginning to feel like I’ve been here much longer.  And actually, that’s a good thing!  I’m feeling much more adjusted to the culture and the language, I’m beginning to find how to express myself better, I’m making friends . . . in short, I’m finding my footing here.

This week has been one of discovery.  For one, I discovered just how much better it makes one feel to participate in the culture.  I had the pastor’s wife and their little son over for tea and cookies.  Somehow, hosting a little tea made me feel a bit more at home.  That evening the family had me over for dinner, after which we played a game and laughed a lot.  That is another aspect I’m discovering—it feels amazing to be able to laugh, to participate in humour in French.  Courses started this week, and I’m discovering just how much an enthusiastic, experienced professor can make any class feel immediately inviting.  I’m also discovering just how much more comfortable I am in my own skin.  Despite not knowing a single person when I moved here three weeks ago, I already salut and bise friends throughout my day.

I was able to spend the weekend with an awesome American family who gave me a little vacation—I was surrounded by my own language and culture.  It was a relief after an exhausting few days of French classes to not have to think much about what to say or do!

Today after church, the single women had lunch together followed by a Bible study.  Afterward, three of us walked through the vineyards on the hills of Lac Léman.  As you can see from the picture, the colours (my autocorrect has decided to become British) are absolutely beautiful here!  My knee is actually doing quite well, which makes me happy.

What I’m discovering that’s most amazing is how I truly have family here in Christ.  Never have I felt comfortable so quickly as with the Christians here!  I’m amazed by the faithfulness of God.  The sermon today was on John 1, a chapter I know well.  But today I was struck by just how incredible Christ’s incarnation is—and I’m very grateful that God continues to rekindle amazement in my soul for what He has done.  The Word of God is truly living and active.

The true light, which gives light to everyone, was coming into the world. He was in the world, and the world was made through him, yet the world did not know him. He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.

And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth. (John bore witness about him, and cried out, “This was he of whom I said, ‘He who comes after me ranks before me, because he was before me.’”)  For from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.

John 1:9-16

Leave a Reply

